[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

The 2016 reincarnation of Carmageddon! Discuss, mod and troubleshoot!
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

Sorry starbuck, I was hoping to get everything shipshape for a release this evening but I've run out of time.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

I blame myself. All I saw was an update from Errol and the words Flummery 3.7.2 . Then posted without reading to save you from having to post in two different threads.

I am just glad you are inches away instead of miles.
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

v0.3.7.2 released!

Changelog:

* FBX Export: Vertex colours now exported

* FBX Export: Fixed duplicate node name collisions

* Save as > Vehicle: Completely overhauled. Now generates a minge file and a CarMODgeddon ready ZAD.

* Save as > Level: Completely overhauled. Now generates a minge file and a CarMODgeddon ready ZAD.

* View > Preferences: You can configure your Author name and website (used in minge files) on the Misc tab

* Tools > Carmageddon 2 > Process for Carmageddon Reincarnation: Applies all the necessary steps for converting an asset from C2 to C:R
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

Thanks Errol !
User avatar
farellfoxx
driver
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 4:03 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by farellfoxx »

I like what I see; despite the need for manual placement!

Edit: Is this the right thread for map shots?

Sunset by the old SCI-gn
So much work to be done...
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

Manual placement?
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

Errol I just made Junkyard without any other LOL files or anything but doing what you said.

And there are powerups in the map !!! Cool.

And just in case you are surprised I was using the Junkyard template from your site.
User avatar
farellfoxx
driver
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 4:03 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by farellfoxx »

Errol wrote:Manual placement?
By that I meant Powerups; peds and such. Even the AI just sat there; I think they need a starting point. I used the C1 to C2 conversion from ToxicRagers.

Edit: You ARE Errol; of TR... I feel dumb now...
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

Indeed I am! I should really update that site.

Unfortunately X-Ray and I didn't port the powerup positions from C1 to C2 when we made the level ports otherwise they'd automatically be configured for you (as starbuck just discovered with a C2 map conversion).

Peds are easy as pie (take a look at pedfile.xml) but they might not begin spawning until a weird bzn file is generated. Let me know if this is the case and I'll take a crack at reverse-engineering that file format. And yeah, the AI won't move until you start configuring the routes. They're a lot more straight forward compared to C1 and C2, I may even be able to knock something together to auto-convert them at some point.

Let me know if you run into any problems (and I'll fix the sun being too red in the next build (and the sky not existing))
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

The junkyard file looks like it was already preprocessed in Plaything2 (you know the PP 01 000 001 1234 codes) so that might have something to do with it.

It could also be mixed with the version I unzipped last week. I would have to find out which one.

Anyway here is the file in C2 format http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=01394616930636833634 in case you want to look and see why.

The Acid Reign one didnt seem to have powerups. Could be cause I think Carma1 had a different text file format for modification ?
User avatar
farellfoxx
driver
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 4:03 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by farellfoxx »

Errol wrote:Indeed I am! I should really update that site.

Unfortunately X-Ray and I didn't port the powerup positions from C1 to C2 when we made the level ports otherwise they'd automatically be configured for you (as starbuck just discovered with a C2 map conversion).


Peds are easy as pie (take a look at pedfile.xml) but they might not begin spawning until a weird bzn file is generated. Let me know if this is the case and I'll take a crack at reverse-engineering that file format. And yeah, the AI won't move until you start configuring the routes. They're a lot more straight forward compared to C1 and C2, I may even be able to knock something together to auto-convert them at some point.


Let me know if you run into any problems (and I'll fix the sun being too red in the next build (and the sky not existing))

Thanks for your help; haven't seen anything yet, although I do have a few other (Car-Related) problems...

I still don't know how to place wheel nodes in Flummery. I even looked over an existing car from Reincarnation; and I cannot seem to understand it!

Did the menu names change? Am I that stupid? (Probably... I bet it's really simple.) I'm using 3.7.2. I know that deleting the wheel model is required and it loads separately; but...
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

OK Minor bug. I crashed into the "blank" side of a double sided texture in Junkyard. It was that long concrete wall. The "city" side was blank. No big deal but you owe me a new car :)

While I am at it is FBX export supposed to include textures too ? Cause in MAX 2015 I get just the model.
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

starbuck wrote:OK Minor bug. I crashed into the "blank" side of a double sided texture in Junkyard. It was that long concrete wall. The "city" side was blank. No big deal but you owe me a new car :)

While I am at it is FBX export supposed to include textures too ? Cause in MAX 2015 I get just the model.

Flummery generates basic, default materials (the .mt2 files), you'll need to go through them and configure them as appropriate (this is currently done using notepad/text editor of your choice).

When exporting to FBX it will generate .dds files for every texture referenced by the FBX. Although there is little point exporting to FBX if you're going to be using Max. Just use trents scripts to import directly.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

Trents scripts needs a rocket scientist. :) Seriously I will try it once my headache goes away.

The m ost I ever got was it failed at "xmlDoc.load (folder+materialName+".MT2")" even though the names of all the files are in the base folder

I was hoping to use some program to export it to so I can for example fix those walls on both sides.

To use notepad what would I do ? Open the FBX file and for example change the letters mt2 to something else.
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

You don't need to edit the geometry to make the fences double-sided, you just need to edit the appropriate material (the .mt2 files). These files can be opened in your text editor of choice.

I think you can make them double-sided by just adding "" on the line below "" but I'm not 100% sure. It has been over a year since I fiddled with materials.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

I just realized you were talking about the MT2 files after a little thinking.

Your suggestion though made the textures passable from the blank side though :)

But I will look around and find one to look at later since they are text editable.
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

Right, forget the FBX, ok? You don't need it to achieve your goals so just forget it even exists.

Let us say that you've opened your Carma 2 act file, clicked "Process for Carmageddon Reincarnation" and "Saved as Level".

In that folder you've just saved to are a lot of files, many of them will be .mt2 files. These are the files you can open in notepad and these are the files you need to edit to make the materials do what you want.

I'm not going to try to support Trent's maxscripts as I don't have 3ds max.

You say you get an error when "importing the CNT file". Which CNT file?
User avatar
farellfoxx
driver
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 4:03 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by farellfoxx »

This is going to sound similar to another question; but it isn't, technically.

How do I make Wheels? As in: the model of a wheel; and the setup for it to be 'attached' to the car. I've got the placeholders... now I need wheels.
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

I think the basic approach is to take an existing wheel and replace the rim.mdl with your new rim. Alex has created entirely new wheels (tyres and their punctured states too) so he is probably the best to give you the run down.

Sorry chap, I just write the tools!
User avatar
AlexTSK
mindless
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: South Africa

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by AlexTSK »

farellfoxx wrote:This is going to sound similar to another question; but it isn't, technically.

How do I make Wheels? As in: the model of a wheel; and the setup for it to be 'attached' to the car. I've got the placeholders... now I need wheels.

Feel free to send me a PM :)
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

The CNT file i am trying to open up is the level.CNT file. Its like no matter what format I try to re-open the file in it doesnt work. All I can do is start from scratch.

After going to "File Save As Level" when I open the level.CNT file I get this http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2dakoli&s=8#.VauTSK3sZkp. In both Flummery and Trents scripts. No offense intended if it was only Trents scripts I would probably start a "How does Trents scripts work" thread. But I read somewhere that he is using your code to make his scripts, pretty sure that was how he worded it.

I cannot reopen that file unless I go back to to square one "open Carma2 file". Anything created from Flummery just seems like a wasted file except when opening the track in CR. At least texture wise.

There is no way for example to save a "Flummery file" with textures that existed after the "File Save as level" action.

So if it were for example a file that I created I would always have to go back to square one. Feels like the days when we had to go to "ASCtoASE" or when we were using Bemax.

There is no way to continue where you actually left of I guess is what I am saying.

hope that makes sense I just woke up. Wish I could be in the same mode I was last nite. :)
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

I've just tried reopening two different maps I've created and both open fine. Open Flummery, File > Open > Carmageddon Reincarnation > Environment... select your level.cnt in the folder you "save as level" to.

Screenshot any error you get (preferably with the details tab expanded) and also pastebin your flummery.log.

Cheers.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

When I get my head together I will reply later in the day to reconfirm. EDITED my above post minorly.

Log so far is empty. gotta go.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

OK my wife is going to be late, thank god.

So I did all the stuff and saved the level file.

I then opened the CNT WITH the original map in the window , so now I got two maps. The CNT file opened fine.

But when I hit New and started a fresh version of Flummery I got this...

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=79969223499798414042

The Flummery log and the image of the error are inside the zip. And the map is in there too.

FYI This does NOT include the redtop.mt2 file I tried editing like we discussed. I removed that file and started from scratch.

Oh and the powerup textures are not in the original map folder yet "usebarrel, minespike, minebody" etc according to flummery. I could look for those and load them by hand later. Forget this part. I found the missing powerup textures and they showed up in Flummery. Error still happened.
User avatar
farellfoxx
driver
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 4:03 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by farellfoxx »

Errol wrote:I think the basic approach is to take an existing wheel and replace the rim.mdl with your new rim. Alex has created entirely new wheels (tyres and their punctured states too) so he is probably the best to give you the run down.

Sorry chap, I just write the tools!

Thanks anyways; you do great work here!

(My question was a bit general in direction. Anyone could have answered.)
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

FYI Errol I tried to import the "sun.CNT" to edit the RGB values to modify the sunlight myself. And when I tried to export it I got this.

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2cnwd1s&s=8#.VawZ2K3sZko

I tried importing each CNT file separately and of course the error I mentioned before showed up.

could I be doing something wrong here ?
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

I'm slightly confused about the path it seems to be saving to.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

Errol wrote:I'm slightly confused about the path it seems to be saving to.
sorry you lost me.

If you mean to my folder where I keep my mods that is just because I need to keep organized.

If you mean some kind of Windows based error might be getting in the way. please give me the exact directory you do your work in so we get the same results.

EDIT I made a folder c:test

Level name "test"

Pretty name "Pretty"

Race name "Race"

Steam directory c:\games\Steam

Same issue

Are you running Windows 10 preview ?

Its stopping at redtop material and st the bottom its at processing part 00000454

In the MT2 file of redtop line 6 row 50 is right before the equals sign "FileName(here)="redtop"/>" Removing the F for example gave me an unhandled exception error BEFORE that point where it seemed to fail . So that error didnt get a chance to show up.

adding an X in the middle of the texture name still had that error show up so I am assuming it failed at the "here" point or at wherever 0000454 is located.

What bugs the hell out of me is Trents Indutrialb map opens perfectly fine even after saving it as a newly renamed file. And so does multiple tests of other 3d files I made in Max.
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

Errol . If you cant find the problem that is OK.

I DID find a newer version of HarmAlarms scripts that imports it into max including textures. And saves the map fully textured.

I even opened up the ACT DAT MAT files and saved them as a new C2 map name. Then opened that one up and made a level out of it the same thing happened. Same error but at a different time.

Its got to be something misnamed in the actual file or textures. You probably wont find it.
User avatar
Errol
Toxic Ranger
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 12:16 pm
Location: Sunny Wales

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Errol »

In all honesty I have no idea what you are doing or why it would be failing. I find it very difficult to follow along with what you are saying. Where did all the "line 6, row 50" stuff come from?

Also, I was confused about the path "C:\Users\Maxx\Documents" that appeared in your screenshot. I check my source and my name isn't embedded anywhere within the code, why would you be saving to my user directory?

What has Harms scripts got to do with anything? It loads and saves? Ok... but how does that help?

I am lost and I don't think I can help you.

My apologies. I was tired and grumpy and grumped at you like a complete jerk.

I have downloaded your Junkyard file and tried opening it myself and have discovered the issue... ampersands! Just removing them now to see how things go.

edit:

Yup, it is ampersands. This will be fixed in .3. Thanks for bringing it to my attention and my sincerest apologies for being a knob.
User avatar
Trent
mindless
Posts: 2945
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 9:08 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Trent »

starbuck wrote:Trents scripts needs a rocket scientist. :) Seriously I will try it once my headache goes away.

The m ost I ever got was it failed at "xmlDoc.load (folder+materialName+".MT2")" even though the names of all the files are in the base folder

Much like what Errol mentioned with Flummery, this is due to stupid & characters being used in as texture names in C2. The XML parse expects & to be followed by a sequence of characters and terminated with a ; as that is how special characters are defined in XML/HTML/etc. The use of & in things like filenames in the MT2 makes it a malformed XML document. You can fix this by replacing all the & characters materials with & and it will load in my tools, should load in Flummery and will load in the game. To make it easier for you, the materials which use & in their texture names are:

b&qbot.mt2

b&qbot2.mt2

b&qtop.mt2

magtop.mt2

malw2sid.mt2

malwal.mt2
a.k.a. Brent
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

"Where did all the "line 6, row 50" stuff come from" Umm the image of the error message that I sent you ?

Harms scripts were able to do what I really needed and get the C2 maps editable outside the game. Which is what I was looking for in the first place.

""C:\Users\Maxx\Documents"" now where did that come from ? my screenshot didnt have that ? Now I am lost :)

Yeah you are a knob but a useful knob , so I tolerate it. Just kidding. Seriously didnt notice you being difficult. If you didnt see it then that is usually me not explaining it well enough.

I am glad you found the solution. Even though it was the materials error. I figured that if one lone person was getting the error more people would be getting the error, since I might be one of the rare people actually messing with the maps.

Dont worry about you getting frustrated, I get that way consistently trying to get my thoughts out in the world where it is understandable by others. Hence the reason for all the editing of my posts even hours later.

Thanks Trent. Welcome back. Will look into it later.

One thing though "You can fix this by replacing all the & characters materials with &" You mean actually typing "&amp" ? Not understanding.
User avatar
Trent
mindless
Posts: 2945
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 9:08 am

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by Trent »

Yes, here is an example of b&qbot.mt2 originally when it was broken:

<?xml version="1.0"?>







And this is the fixed version:

<?xml version="1.0"?>







Make the change for each of the materials i mentioned.
a.k.a. Brent
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

Thanks for the explanation Trent. I thought you had a typo.

EDIT Finally edited inside all those files the way you said and it worked. Thanks
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

[Tool] Flummery v0.3.7.5

Post by starbuck »

OK Errol here goes hopefully a better writing.

I wanted to edit the color of the sun.

I opened up the Sun.CNT and changed some RGB parameters ans save it again as a sun.CNT over top of the old file. It crashed in Flummery.

I then opened the sun.light file and changed the parameters, and saved a new sun.CNT file and got this

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=156cuo2&s=8#.Va3_ma3sZko

So what am I doing wrong to make a new "sun" ?