Does this game uses VAC?

The 2016 reincarnation of Carmageddon! Discuss, mod and troubleshoot!
User avatar
Beregond
pedestrian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:40 pm

Does this game uses VAC?

Post by Beregond »

I have the Steam version of Carmageddon: Max Damage and would like to try and modify some things and play around with the data with the help of third party tools. Is this safe to use or does this game has VAC enabled?

Thanks in adavance!
User avatar
Trent
mindless
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 9:08 am

Does this game uses VAC?

Post by Trent »

The game doesnt use VAC, you can modify every piece of content in the game without worry. The game does however have it's one little bit of protection in that it stops saving and locks multiplayer if you modify the content in the ZAD folder.

The game does have a special mode called carmodgeddon for using car and level mods properly.

There is a modding section of this forum which has lots of information scattered around and quite a lot of mods from a few of us. Errol and I have made a fairly complete toolset for modding the game between us. If you have specific questions about modding the game then just make a thread in the mod section and ask.
a.k.a. Brent
User avatar
Beregond
pedestrian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:40 pm

Does this game uses VAC?

Post by Beregond »

Damn. Thank you for the fast reply! I am going to look into it.
User avatar
Trent
mindless
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2000 9:08 am

Does this game uses VAC?

Post by Trent »

Could i ask what exactly you're trying to do? We probably know how like 90% of the game works between us so it might save you some research time figuring out stuff we might have already figured out :)
a.k.a. Brent
User avatar
starbuck
kill boss
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:26 pm

Does this game uses VAC?

Post by starbuck »

I know they are minor tools but do you guys know yet when they are coming ?